Flashback Friday: ZZ Top “Tush”


There I was, slaving over a Gary Rhodes shepherd’s pie recipe when all of a sudden the DJ Boba Fett “BAd BReaks” mixtape I was listening to threw up a monumental blast from the past, which always makes me stop and smile.

SPOILER ALERT – Turn that mad mix of music and mayhem OFF when the dialogue turns unfamiliar; you really don’t want to know what happens next via a bloody mixtape.

The track in quzztop41 fuzzy guitarsestion was ZZ Top’s “Tush”. (Play it LOUD. You know you want to)

I do raise my head out of the Disco nosebag from time to time.

In fact, my formative years (16 – 25) were spent watching all manner of rock’n’rollin bands in some of Sydney’s best and worst establishments. I just about managed to ride the tail end of the Sydney pub rock scene right on into the Hordern Pavillion “Acid House” parties. But that’s not the blast to which I refer ….

No, as I recall, “Tush” was last played (nay, BLARED OUT) of my old friend Rurbler’s hotted up Holden Commodore. No biggie, except we weren’t on solid ground. We were on snow, with no chains, no traction and toggling disasterously between life and death: either crashing into the hard shoulder or veering perilously close to the edge of the road, which dropped away somewhat, being the Perisher ski fields and all.

“Slip Sliding Away” would have been more appropriate soundtrack, but Rurbler sure did love his ZZ. Didn’t we all?

We, being the car crammed full of teenaged passengers, screamed for all we worth. Demanded to be let out of the car; to slow down. But it was no good. Rurbler was having too much fun smokin’ and ridin’ that trail home to Jindabyne like a big ol’ steer at a rodeo. Being teenagers, we accepted that this could be our last hurrah and added our voices to that unholiest of choirs full throttle; equal parts terror and delight:

Lord, take me downtown, I’m just lookin’ for some tush.

*BIG sigh*

Back to the pie.

 

“Tush”

I been up, I been down.
Take my word, my way around.
I ain’t askin’ for much.
I said, Lord, take me downtown,
I’m just lookin’ for some tush.
I been bad, I been good,
Dallas, Texas, Hollywood.
I ain’t askin’ for much.
I said, Lord, take me downtown,
I’m just lookin’ for some tush.
Take me back way back home,
not by myself, not alone.
I ain’t askin’ for much.
I said, Lord, take me downtown,
I’m just lookin’ for some tush.
(Learn the words; they come in handy when in peril)
11 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: ZZ Top “Tush”

Leave a Reply

